Adjunct Faculty

Dirk Bonker

Dirk Bonker

Associate Professor in the Department of History

Office: 208 Carr Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90719, Durham, NC 27708-0719

Phone: (919) 684-3930

dirk.bonker@duke.edu

I am a historian of the United States and Germany, who focuses on questions of militarism, warfare, and empire in the long twentieth century. In my work, I also address larger questions about how best to "globalize" and "internationalize" U.S and German histories in the modern age.

Kristen Josie Dolan

Kristen Josie Dolan

Instructor of German

Campus Box: Old Chem. Hall - 111A

Phone: 660-3171

kristen.dolan@duke.edu

Bryan Gilliam

Bryan Gilliam

Professor of Music

Office: 067 Mary Duke Biddle, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90665, Durham, NC 27708-0665

Phone: (919) 660-3321

bgilliam@duke.edu

Ph.D., Harvard University. Author of books and articles on late 19th-and early 20th-century German music. Specialties include Richard Strauss, Anton Bruckner, Kurt Weill, Erich Korngold, 19th and 20th-century German opera, fin-de-siècle Vienna, film music, German musical aesthetics.

April Lynn Henry

April Lynn Henry

Instructor of German

Office: Germanic Languages And Literat, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Old Chem. - Ste. 116E

Phone: (919) 660-3169

april.henry@duke.edu

Laura Suzanne Lieber

Laura Suzanne Lieber

Professor of Religious Studies

Office: 118B Gray Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90964, Durham, NC 27708-0964

Phone: (919) 660-3510

laura.lieber@duke.edu

My primary area of research is in the area of synagogue poetry ("piyyut") from Late Antiquity and the Byzantine period. I examine these works from a variety of perspectives, including literary, performative, and comparative (particularly with early Christian hymnography in Syriac and Greek), and... Full Profile »

Adelheid Madden

Adelheid Madden

Adjunct Professor of Germanic Languages and Lit

Office: 232 Bostock Library, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90195, Durham, NC 27708-0195

Phone: (919) 660-5984

heidi.madden@duke.edu

Adelheid (Heidi) Madden: In my primary appointment I serve as the Librarian for Western European and Medieval Renaissance Studies at Duke University Libraries. I develop collections of materials from and about Europe and provide research services on European topics. I am active in the European... Full Profile »