Affiliated Faculty

Dirk Bonker

Dirk Bonker

Associate Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 208 Classroom Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90719, Durham, NC 27708-0719

Phone: (919) 684-3930

Office Hours: Tuesday 3:00-4:00 PM, Wednesday 10:00-11:00 AM and by appointment

dirk.bonker@duke.edu

I am a historian of the United States and Germany, who focuses on questions of militarism, warfare, and empire in the long twentieth century. In my work, I also address larger questions about how best to "globalize" and "internationalize" U.S and German histories in the modern age.

Kristen Dolan

Kristen Dolan

Instructor of German

Phone: +1 919 660 3171

kristen.dolan@duke.edu

Bryan Gilliam

Bryan Gilliam

Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 067 Mary Duke Biddle, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90665, Durham, NC 27708-0665

Phone: (919) 660-3321

bgilliam@duke.edu

Ph.D., Harvard University. Author of books and articles on late 19th-and early 20th-century German music. Specialties include Richard Strauss, Anton Bruckner, Kurt Weill, Erich Korngold, 19th and 20th-century German opera, fin-de-siècle Vienna, film music, German musical aesthetics.

April Henry

April Henry

Instructor

Office: Germanic Languages and Literat, Durham, NC 27708

Phone: +1 919 660 3171

Office Hours: Wednesdays: 11:30-12:30Thursdays: 12:30-1:30

april.henry@duke.edu

Laura Suzanne Lieber

Laura Suzanne Lieber

Professor of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 118B Gray Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90964, Durham, NC 27708-0964

Phone: (919) 660-3504

laura.lieber@duke.edu

My primary area of research is in the area of synagogue poetry ("piyyut") from Late Antiquity and the Byzantine period. I examine these works from a variety of perspectives, including literary, performative, and comparative (particularly with early Christian hymnography in Syriac and Greek), and... Full Profile »

Adelheid Madden

Adelheid Madden

Adjunct Professor of Germanic Languages and Lit

Office: 232 Bostock Library, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90195, Durham, NC 27708-0195

Phone: (919) 660-5984

Office Hours: Tuesdays   9:00 - 12:00 Bostock Library, Room 232 (2nd. Fl. Bostock; in Suite 227)

heidi.madden@duke.edu

Adelheid (Heidi) Madden is the Librarian for Western European and Medieval Renaissance Studies. She develops collections of materials from and about Europe, and provides research services and library instruction. Heidi also accompanies the Medieval Renaissance Studies FOCUS program each fall. Heidi... Full Profile »

Jochen Wohlfeil

Jochen Wohlfeil

Adjunct Associate Professor of the Practice in German and Resident Director, Duke in Berlin

jochen.wohlfeil@duke.edu