People

Helga W. Bessent

Helga W. Bessent

Assistant Professor Emeritus

Office: 116F Old Chemistry, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90256, Durham, NC 27708-0256

Phone: (919) 660-3172

[field_fds_fax]

hwb@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Caroline Blount

Caroline Blount

Student
[field_fds_fax]

caroline.blount@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Dirk Bonker

Dirk Bonker

Associate Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 208 Classroom Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90719, Durham, NC 27708-0719

Phone: (919) 684-3930

[field_fds_fax]

Office Hours: Tuesday 3:00-4:00 PM, Wednesday 10:00-11:00 AM and by appointment

dirk.bonker@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Corinne Petra Crane

Corinne Petra Crane

Associate Professor of the Practice of Germanic Languages
[field_fds_fax]

Office Hours: Tuesdays (1 - 2 p.m.) & Thursdays (11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.), and by appointment

cpc32@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Martin Dawson

Martin Dawson

Student
[field_fds_fax]

martin.dawson@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Kristen Josie Dolan

Kristen Josie Dolan

Lecturing Fellow of German Studies

Phone: 919-660-3171

[field_fds_fax]

kristen.dolan@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Nathan Drapela

Nathan Drapela

Student
[field_fds_fax]

nathan.drapela@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Stefani Engelstein

Stefani Engelstein

Professor of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: German Studies Department, Campus Box 90256, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: German Studies Department, 116C Old Chem, Durham, NC 27708

Phone: (919) 660-3173

[field_fds_fax]

Office Hours: Mon.   1:00p.m.  -  2:00p.m.& by appointment

stefani.engelstein@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Susanne Freytag

Susanne Freytag

Lecturing Fellow of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 112B Old Chemistry, Box 90256, Durham, NC 27708-0680

Campus Box: Box 90256, Durham, NC 27708-0256

Phone: (919) 660-3065

[field_fds_fax]

Office Hours: Monday & Thurs. 2:00p - 3:00p

susanne.freytag@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Natasza Gawlick

Natasza Gawlick

Student
[field_fds_fax]

natasza.gawlick@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Kata Gellen

Kata Gellen

Associate Professor of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 116B Old Chemistry Building, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90256, Durham, NC 27708-0256

Phone: (919) 660-3168

[field_fds_fax]

Office Hours: Fall 2019 office hoursTues/Thur 12-1pm

kata.gellen@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Bryan Gilliam

Bryan Gilliam

Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 067 Mary Duke Biddle, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90665, Durham, NC 27708-0665

Phone: (919) 660-3321

[field_fds_fax]

bgilliam@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Lea Greenberg

Lea Greenberg

Student
[field_fds_fax]

lea.greenberg@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

April Lynn Henry

April Lynn Henry

Lecturing Fellow of German Studies

Office: Germanic Languages and Literat, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90256, Durham, NC 27708-0256

Phone: (919) 660-3169

[field_fds_fax]

Office Hours: Wednesdays: 11:30-12:30 Thursdays: 12:30-1:30

april.henry@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Hans J. Hillerbrand

Hans J. Hillerbrand

Professor Emeritus of Religious Studies

Office: 326 Gray Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90964, Durham, NC 27708-0964

Phone: (919) 660-3511

[field_fds_fax]

hjh@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Lukas Hoffman

Lukas Hoffman

Student
[field_fds_fax]

lukas.hoffman@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Christa T. Johns

Christa T. Johns

Lecturer Emeritus

Office: Dept of Germanic Languages and, Box 90256, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Dept of Germanic Languages and, Box 90256, Durham, NC 27708-0256

Phone: (919) 660-3160

[field_fds_fax]

ctjohns@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

John Jolly

John Jolly

Student
[field_fds_fax]

Office Hours: T-TH - 9:45 am - 10:45 am

john.jolly@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Amy Jones

Amy Jones

Student
[field_fds_fax]

amy.l.jones@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Nick Jones

Nick Jones

Student
[field_fds_fax]

nicholas.d.jones@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Norman Keul

Norman Keul

Instructor of German

Office: 116 Old Chem, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90256, Durham, NC 27708

Phone: (919) 660-3160

[field_fds_fax]

nkeul@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Edana Kleinhans

Edana Kleinhans

Student
[field_fds_fax]

edana.kleinhans@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Undraa Lhamsuren

Undraa Lhamsuren

Student
[field_fds_fax]

undraa.lhamsuren@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Laura Suzanne Lieber

Laura Suzanne Lieber

Professor of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 118B Gray Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90964, Durham, NC 27708-0964

Phone: (919) 660-3504

[field_fds_fax]

laura.lieber@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Heidi Madden, Ph.D.

Heidi Madden, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor of Germanic Languages and Lit

Office: 232 Bostock Library, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90195, Durham, NC 277080195

Phone: +1 919 660 5984

[field_fds_fax]

heidi.madden@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Michael Malloy

Michael Malloy

Student
[field_fds_fax]

michael.malloy@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Ian McArthur

Ian McArthur

Student
[field_fds_fax]

ian.mcarthur@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Ian McLean

Ian McLean

Student
[field_fds_fax]

ian.mclean@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Jakob Norberg

Jakob Norberg

Associate Professor of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 116H Old Chemistry, Box 90256, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 116H Old Chemistry, Box 90256, Durham, NC 27708

Phone: (919) 660-3161

[field_fds_fax]

Office Hours: Tues./Thurs. - 1:00p - 2:00p

jakob.norberg@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Thomas Pfau

Thomas Pfau

Professor of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 312 Allen Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Duke Box 90015, Durham, NC 27708-0015

Phone: (919) 681-3098

[field_fds_fax]

Office Hours: Wednesdays 3:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. and by appointment.

pfau@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Henry Pickford

Henry Pickford

Associate Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: Department of Germanic Languag, Box 90256, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: PO Box 90256, 116K Old Chem, Durham, NC 27708

Phone: (919) 660-3089

[field_fds_fax]

Office Hours: By appointment via Zoom. Please email to make appointment.

henry.pickford@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Sarah Milne Pourciau

Sarah Milne Pourciau

Assistant Professor of Germanic Languages

Office: 116L Old Chemistry Building, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90256, Durham, NC 27708-0256

Phone: 660-3162

[field_fds_fax]

sarah.pourciau@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

James L. Rolleston

James L. Rolleston

Professor Emeritus

Office: 116L Old Chemistry, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90256, Durham, NC 27708-0256

Phone: (919) 660-3162

[field_fds_fax]

jroll@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Christoph Schmitz

Christoph Schmitz

Student
[field_fds_fax]

christoph.schmitz@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Joshua Shelly

Joshua Shelly

Student
[field_fds_fax]

joshua.shelly@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Margaret Swanson

Margaret Swanson

Departmental Business Mgr I

Office: German Department, 116 A Old Chem Bldg., Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 415 Chapel Drive, 116A Old Chem, Durham, NC 27708

Phone: +1 919 660 3104

[field_fds_fax]

margaret.swanson@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

David Takamura

David Takamura

Student
[field_fds_fax]

david.takamura@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Dorothy Thorpe-Turner

Dorothy Thorpe-Turner

Staff Asst

Phone: +1 919 660 3076

[field_fds_fax]

d.turner@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Ingeborg C. Walther

Ingeborg C. Walther

Professor of the Practice Emerita of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 116J Old Chemistry Building, Box 90256, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90050, Durham, NC 27708-0050

Phone: (919) 660-3163

[field_fds_fax]

waltheri@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Leonie Wilms

Leonie Wilms

Student
[field_fds_fax]

leonie.wilms@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Jochen Wohlfeil

Jochen Wohlfeil

Adjunct Associate Professor of the Practice in German and Resident Director, Duke in Berlin
[field_fds_fax]

jochen.wohlfeil@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Stephen Zaksewicz

Stephen Zaksewicz

Student
[field_fds_fax]

stephen.zaksewicz@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]

Tatjana Zimbelius-Klem

Tatjana Zimbelius-Klem

Student
[field_fds_fax]

tatjana.zimbeliusklem@duke.edu

[field_fds_research_interests]