People

Affiliated Faculty

Dirk Bonker

Associate Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 208 Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90719

Phone: (919) 684-3930

dirk.bonker@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Kristen Josie Dolan

Instructor of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: Old Chemistry

Phone: (919) 660-3076

Office Hours: Thurs. 1:00pm - 3:00pm & by appointment

kristen.dolan@duke.edu

Full Profile »

William C Donahue

Adjunct Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 116-D Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3089

william.donahue@duke.edu

realism, modernism, Holocaust literature, religion & secularization, memoir, Elias Canetti, ethics & literature

missing portrait

April Lynn Henry

Visiting Assistant Professor of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: Germanic Languages and Literat

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3160

Office Hours: Tuesdays: 11:15-12:15Wednesdays: 11:15-12:15

april.henry@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Adelheid H. Madden

Adjunct Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and LIterature

Office: 232 Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90195

Phone: (919) 660-5984

Fax: (919) 684-2855

Office Hours: Wednesday 9am-11am

heidi.madden@duke.edu

Full Profile »

missing portrait

Jochen Wohlfeil

Adjunct Associate Professor of the Practice in German and Resident Director, Duke in Berlin

jw171@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Graduate Students

Emma Goehler

Student

Office: Old Chemistry

emma.goehler@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Lukas Hoffman

Student

Office: Old Chemistry

lukas.hoffman@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Helen Saenz

Student

Office: Old Chemistry

helen.saenz@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Joshua Shelly

Student

Office: Old Chemistry

joshua.shelly@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Department Faculty

Stefani Engelstein

Associate Professor of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: Germanic Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3173

Office Hours: Tues 1:30-3:30.

stefani.engelstein@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Susanne C Freytag

Visiting Lecturer of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 112B Old Chemistry, Box 90256, Durham, NC 27708-0680

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3065

Office Hours: Tues. & Wed. 2:30pm - 3:30pm

susanne.freytag@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Kata Gellen

Assistant Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 116B Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3168

Office Hours: Tuesdays 10am-12pm and by appointment

kata.gellen@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Bryan Gilliam

Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 067 Mary Duke Biddle, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90665

Phone: (919) 660-3321

Fax: (919) 660-3301

bgilliam@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Laura Suzanne Lieber

Associate Professor in the Department of Germanic Language and Literature

Office: 118B Gray Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90964

Phone: (919) 660-3510

Office Hours: Mondays 11:00am - 1:00pm & by appointment in 230 Gray

laura.lieber@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Jakob Norberg

Assistant Professor of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 116H Old Chemistry

Phone: (919) 660-3161

Office Hours: Fridays 11:30am - 1:00pm

jakob.norberg@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Thomas Pfau

Associate Professor of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 312 Allen Building

Campus Box: 90015

Phone: (919) 681-3098, (919) 684-2741

Fax: (919) 684-4871

Office Hours: Monday 2:00p - 3:30p - Old Chem. 116E Wednesday 1:30p - 2:30p - 312 Allen

pfau@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Henry Pickford

Associate Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: Department of Germanic Languag, Box 90256, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3089

Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday, 1-2 PM

henry.pickford@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Ingeborg C. Walther

Professor of the Practice of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 116J Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90050

Phone: (919) 660-3163

Office Hours: Tues. 4:00pm - 5:00pm & by appointment in Allen 02

waltheri@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Professors Emeritus

Hans J. Hillerbrand

Professor Emeritus of Religious Studies

Office: 326 Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90964

Phone: (919) 660-3511

Fax: (919) 660-3530

hjh@duke.edu

Specializes in Reformation and the history of modern Christianity. He has written or edited some eleven books and some forty articles. Several of Dr. Hillerbrand's books have become standard texts. He served as editor-in-chief of the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation (1996) and is president of... Full Profile »

Christa T. Johns

Lecturer Emeritus

Office: Dept Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3160

Fax: (919) 660-3166

Office Hours: Tuesdays/Thursdays 4pm-4:25pm & 5:40pm-6pm; and by appointment

ctjohns@duke.edu

Full Profile »

missing portrait

Michael M. Morton

Research Professor Emeritus in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 116E Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3169

mmorton@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Ann Marie Rasmussen

Professor Emerita of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 116C Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3160

Fax: (919) 660-3166

annmarie.rasmussen@duke.edu

Full Profile »

James L. Rolleston

Professor Emeritus

Office: 116L Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3162

Fax: (919) 660-3166

jroll@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Staff

missing portrait

Margaret Swanson

Departmental Business Mgr I

Office: Old Chemistry

Phone: (919) 660-3104

margaret.swanson@duke.edu

Full Profile »

missing portrait

Dorothy Thorpe-Turner

Staff Assistant DUSA/DGSA

Office: Old Chemistry

Phone: (919) 660-3076

d.turner@duke.edu

Full Profile »