People

Professors Emeritus

missing portrait

Arthur T. Alt

Professor Emeritus

Office: 304 Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3160

Fax: +1 919 681 8606

ata@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Hans J. Hillerbrand

Professor Emeritus of Religious Studies

Office: 326 Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90964

Phone: (919) 660-3511

Fax: (919) 660-3530

hjh@duke.edu

Specializes in Reformation and the history of modern Christianity. He has written or edited some eleven books and some forty articles. Several of Dr. Hillerbrand's books have become standard texts. He served as editor-in-chief of the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation (1996) and is president of... Full Profile »

Christa T. Johns

Lecturer Emeritus

Office: Dept Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3160

Fax: (919) 660-3166

Office Hours: Tuesdays/Thursdays 4pm-4:25pm & 5:40pm-6pm; and by appointment

ctjohns@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Norman Keul

Instructor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 116 Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3160

Fax: (919) 660-0488

nkeul@duke.edu

Full Profile »

missing portrait

Michael M. Morton

Research Professor Emeritus in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 116E Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3169

mmorton@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Ann Marie Rasmussen

Professor Emerita of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 116C Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3160

Fax: (919) 660-3166

annmarie.rasmussen@duke.edu

Full Profile »

James L. Rolleston

Professor Emeritus

Office: 116L Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3162

Fax: (919) 660-3166

jroll@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Department Faculty

missing portrait

Helga W. Bessent

Assistant Professor Emeritus

Office: 116F Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3172

Fax: (919) 660-3166

hwb@duke.edu

Full Profile »

missing portrait

Eric Downing

Adjunct Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: Germanic Languages and Literat

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3160

ed105@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Stefani Engelstein

Associate Professor of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: Germanic Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3173

Office Hours: Tues 1:30-3:30.

stefani.engelstein@duke.edu

Main Web Page

Full Profile »

Susanne Freytag

Visiting Lecturer in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 116M Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3160

Office Hours: Tues. & Wed. 2:30pm - 3:30pm

susanne.freytag@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Kata Gellen

Assistant Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 116B Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3168

Office Hours: Tuesdays 10am-12pm and by appointment

kata.gellen@duke.edu

Main Web Page

Full Profile »

Bryan Gilliam

Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 067 Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90665

Phone: (919) 660-3321

Fax: (919) 660-3301

bgilliam@duke.edu

Main Web Page

Full Profile »

Corinna Kahnke

Assistant Professor of the Practice of Germanic Languages

Office: Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3170

Fax: 919.660.3166

Office Hours: Fall 2015 Office Hours Tues. Wed. & Thurs. 1:00p - 2:00p

corinna.kahnke@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Laura Suzanne Lieber

Associate Professor in the Department of Germanic Language and Literature

Office: 118B Old Chemistry

Phone: (919) 660-3510

Office Hours: Mondays 11:00am - 1:00pm & by appointment in 230 Gray

laura.lieber@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Jakob Norberg

Assistant Professor of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 116H Old Chemistry

Phone: (919) 660-3161

Office Hours: Fridays 11:30am - 1:00pm

jakob.norberg@duke.edu

Main Web Page

Full Profile »

Thomas Pfau

Associate Professor of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 312 Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90015

Phone: (919) 681-3098

Fax: (919) 684-4871

Office Hours: Monday 2:00p - 3:30p - Old Chem. 116E Wednesday 1:30p - 2:30p - 312 Allen

pfau@duke.edu

Main Web Page

Full Profile »

Henry Pickford

Associate Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: Department of Germanic Languag, Box 90256, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3089

Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday, 1-2 PM

henry.pickford@duke.edu

Main Web Page

Full Profile »

Ingeborg C. Walther

Associate Professor of the Practice of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 116J Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90050

Phone: (919) 660-3163

Office Hours: Tues. 4:00pm - 5:00pm & by appointment in Allen 02

waltheri@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Affiliated Faculty

Dirk Bonker

Associate Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 208 Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90719

Phone: (919) 684-3930

dirk.bonker@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Kristen Josie Dolan

Instructor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: Old Chemistry

Office Hours: Thurs. 1:00pm - 3:00pm & by appointment

kristen.dolan@duke.edu

Full Profile »

William C Donahue

Adjunct Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 116-D Old Chemistry

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3089

william.donahue@duke.edu

realism, modernism, Holocaust literature, religion & secularization, memoir, Elias Canetti, ethics & literature

missing portrait

Eve Duffy

Adjunct Associate Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: 122 Old Chemistry

Phone: (919) 684-3272

eve.duffy@duke.edu

Full Profile »

missing portrait

April Lynn Henry

Visiting Assistant Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: Germanic Languages and Literat

Campus Box: 90256

Phone: (919) 660-3160

Office Hours: Tuesdays: 11:15-12:15Wednesdays: 11:15-12:15

april.henry@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Adelheid Madden

Adjunct Professor in the Department of Germanic Languages and LIterature

Office: 232 Old Chemistry

Phone: (919) 660-5984

Fax: (919) 684-2855

Office Hours: Wednesday 9am-11am

heidi.madden@duke.edu

Full Profile »

missing portrait

Jochen Wohlfeil

Adjunct Associate Professor of the Practice in German and Resident Director, Duke in Berlin

jw171@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Graduate Students

Bethany Bowen

Student

Office: Old Chemistry

Office Hours: Mon. 1:00pm - 2:00pm Wed. 10:30am - 11:30am

bethany.bowen@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Martin Dawson

Student

Office: Old Chemistry

martin.dawson@duke.edu

Full Profile »

John Gill

Student

Office: Old Chemistry

Phone: (919) 219-5681

john.t.gill@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Lea Greenberg

Student

Office: Old Chemistry

lea.greenberg@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Matthew Hambro

Student

Office: Old Chemistry

Phone: (952) 201-3321

Office Hours: Tues. 10:30am - 11:30am Fri. 11:30am -12:30am

matthew.hambro@duke.edu

Main Web Page

Full Profile »

Heidi Hart

Student

Office: Old Chemistry

harth@email.unc.edu

Full Profile »

Amy Jones

Student

Office: Old Chemistry

amy.i.jones@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Christine Kenison

Student

Office: Old Chemistry

Phone: (603) 714-0193

christine.kenison@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Joseph Kominkiewicz

Student

Office: 116 Old Chemistry

jkominkiewiCz@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Richard Lambert

Student

Office: Old Chemistry

Phone: (860) 309-0530

richard.lambert@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Patrick Lang

Student

Office: Old Chemistry

Phone: (919) 638-7220

patrick.lang@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Sandra Niethardt

Student

Office: Old Chem 116

Office Hours: Mon. 5:15pm - 6:15pm Wed. 11:15am - 12:15pm

sandra.niethardt@duke.edu

Main Web Page

Full Profile »

Margaret Reif

Student

Office: Old Chemistry

margaret.reif@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Claire Scott

Student

Office: Old Chemistry

claire.scott@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Melanie Ungar

Student

Office: Old Chemistry 401

Office Hours: M: 2-3p / Tu: 1-2p

melanie.ungar@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Emma Goehler

Student

Phone: (503) 545-1993

emma.goehler@duke.edu

Full Profile »

missing portrait

Lukas Hoffman

Student

Phone: (303) 748-7795

lukas.hoffman@duke.edu

Full Profile »

missing portrait

Helen Saenz

Student

Phone: (912) 429-0312

helen.saenz@duke.edu

Full Profile »

missing portrait

Joshua Shelly

Student

Phone: (248) 200-8421

joshua.shelly@duke.edu

Full Profile »

Staff

missing portrait

Margaret Swanson

Departmental Business Mgr I

Office: Old Chemistry

Phone: (919) 660-3104

margaret.swanson@duke.edu

Full Profile »

missing portrait

Dorothy Thorpe-Turner

Staff Assistant DUSA/DGSA

Office: Old Chemistry

Phone: (919) 660-3076

d.turner@duke.edu

Full Profile »