Adjunct Faculty

Dirk Bonker

Associate Professor in the Department of History

Office: 208 Carr Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90719, Durham, NC 27708-0719

Phone: (919) 684-3930

dirk.bonker@duke.edu

I am a historian of the United States and Germany, who focuses on questions of militarism, warfare, and empire in the long twentieth century. In my work, I also address larger questions about how best to "globalize" and "internationalize" U.S and German histories in the modern age.

missing portrait

Kristen Josie Dolan

Instructor of Germanic Languages and Literature

kristen.dolan@duke.edu

Bryan Gilliam

Professor of Music

Office: 067 Mary Duke Biddle, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90665, Durham, NC 27708-0665

Phone: (919) 660-3321

bgilliam@duke.edu

Ph.D., Harvard University. Author of books and articles on late 19th-and early 20th-century German music. Specialties include Richard Strauss, Anton Bruckner, Kurt Weill, Erich Korngold, 19the and 20th-cemtury German opera, fin-de-siècle Vienna, film music, German musical aesthetics.

missing portrait

April Lynn Henry

Visiting Assistant Professor of Germanic Languages and Literature

Office: Germanic Languages and Literat, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90256, Durham, NC 27708-0256

Phone: (919) 660-3160

april.henry@duke.edu

Laura Suzanne Lieber

Professor of Religious Studies

Office: 118B Gray Bldg, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90964, Durham, NC 27708-0964

Phone: (919) 660-3510

laura.lieber@duke.edu

My primary area of research is in the area of synagogue poetry ("piyyut") from Late Antiquity and the Byzantine period. I examine these works from a variety of perspectives, including literary, performative, and comparative (particularly with early Christian hymnography in Syriac and Greek), and... Full Profile »

Adelheid Madden

Adjunct Professor of Germanic Languages and Lit

Office: 232 Bostock Library, Durham, NC 27708

Campus Box: Box 90195, Durham, NC 27708-0195

Phone: (919) 660-5984

heidi.madden@duke.edu

Adelheid (Heidi) Madden: In my primary appointment I serve as the Librarian for Western European and Medieval Renaissance Studies at Duke University Libraries. I develop collections of materials from and about Europe and provide research services on European topics. I am active in the Western... Full Profile »

Christoph Schaub

Visiting Lecturer of Germanic Languages

Campus Box: Old Chem. Bldg. - 116E

Phone: 681-3098

christoph.schaub@duke.edu

(Ph.D., Columbia University, 2015; M.A., FU Berlin, 2009) is a Visiting Lecturer in Duke’s Department of Germanic Languages and Literature and the book review editor of The Germanic Review.  Before coming to Duke, he taught for two years at Columbia University. His research focuses on... Full Profile »